Thursday, May 5, 2011

Final May Feature

For my last guest author feature, today I am so pleased to welcome author Sibel Hodge.


Sibel Hodge has dual British/Turkish Cypriot nationality, dividing her time between Hertfordshire and North Cyprus. She is a qualified personal trainer, sports and massage therapist, and writes freelance feature articles on health, fitness, and various lifetyle subjects. Prior to this, she also worked for Hertfordshire Constabulary for ten years.

Fourteen Days Later (Romantic Comedy)
Her first novel, Fourteen Days Later, was short listed for the Harry Bowling Prize 2008 and received a highly commended by the Yeovil Literary Prize 2009. It is a romantic comedy with a unique infusion of British and Turkish Cypriot culture. Written in a similar style to Sophie Kinsella and Marian Keyes, Fourteen Days Later is My Big Fat Greek Wedding meets Bridget Jones.

Sibel Hodge

My Perfect Wedding is the sequel to Fourteen Days Later, although it can be read as a standalone novel.


The Fashion Police was a runner up in the Chapter One Promotions Novel Competition 2010 and nominated Best Novel with Romantic Elements 2010 by The Romance Reviews. It is a screwball comedy-mystery, combining murder and mayhem with romance and chick-lit, and the first in a series featuring feisty, larger-than-life insurance investigator, Amber Fox. Written in a similar style to Janet Evanovich and Myron Bolitar, The Fashion Police is Stephanie Plum meets Harlan Coben. Be Careful What You Wish For is the second Amber Fox Mystery.

Blurb:

For fans of Janet Evanovich, Kate Johnson, and Gemma Halliday...

Armed with cool sarcasm and uncontrollable hair, feisty insurance investigator Amber Fox is back in a new mystery combining murder and mayhem with romance and chicklit…

Three deaths.
A safety deposit box robbery.
The boxing heavyweight champion of the world.

Somehow, they’re all related, and Amber has to solve a four year old crime to find out why.

As she stumbles across a trail of dead bodies and a web of lies spanning both sides of the social divide, it’s starting to get personal. Someone thinks Amber’s poking her nose in where it’s not wanted, sparking off a game of fox and mouse – only this time, Amber’s the mouse.

Amber’s forced to take refuge in the home of her ex-fiancĂ©, Brad Beckett, and now it’s not just the case that’s hotting up. So is the bedroom…

All Levi Carter wanted to be was the boxing heavyweight champion of the world, but at what cost?

All Carl Thomas wanted was to be rich, but would his greed be his downfall?

All Brad Beckett wants is to get Amber back, but there’s a reason for the ex word.

Be careful what you wish for…you might just get it.

Links:



Excerpt:

Brad stretched out his long, toned legs and laced his hands behind his head.
I quickly checked out his thighs. Yep, as firm and toned and yummy as ever.
I tossed down the dregs of my wine and briskly tidied up the cartons and plates, busying myself in the kitchen so I wouldn’t be tempted to look at them anymore.
Brad crept up behind me as I loaded the plates in the dishwasher.

I jumped when I realized he was there and swung around. He backed me into the edge of the worktop, his grey eyes staring intently into mine. With his face barely inches away from mine, I could feel his breath, laced with spices and garlic, on my lips.

I sucked in a breath and felt my face (and a few other bits) flood with warmth.
Slowly, he reached out a finger and brought it to the edge of my lips. ‘You have barbeque sauce everywhere.’ The finger worked its way lower, tracing a line down my jawline and neck.

Mmm. Oh, yes, keep your finger going a bit further. Bit further.

I shuddered, his touch burning my skin.

His finger stopped just before he reached my boob.

Ooh, hello! Nipples springing to attention alert!

All I could hear was my breath, rushing in and out, and the banging away of my heartbeat. Either it was scorchingly hot in here all of a sudden or my temperature had just shot up a trillion degrees. Even my bones felt like they were melting with the heat. If I got any hotter, I’d explode in a puff of smoke. Brad had dangerous hands, and not just for bad guys. In fact, his hands should be made illegal.

‘You even have some on your top here. Want me to kiss it off?’ His steady gaze bored into me.

My legs turned to jelly with the dangerous intensity of his gaze. My lips wanted to scream “YES” at the top of my voice, but my brain was sending me silent, red-hot warning signals.

‘Say something.’ Brad inched his lips closer to mine.

I clamped my mouth shut, not trusting myself to speak or succumb to his kiss or anything else for that matter. He looked soooooo edible. Or lickable, even.
God, it was temptation like nothing else on earth. Not even chocolate temptation compared to this, and that’s saying something! He was so close, and I knew just how good his skin would feel under my fingertips. I knew how explosive the sex would be. I knew how excited and safe and special I’d feel with his hands all over my body. I knew all this, but I decided to go with my brain’s signals and pushed him gently away.

He challenged me with his eyes and he broke into a slow, wicked grin. It was the kind of grin that made me want to throw myself at his feet and rip my clothes off. ‘It’ll never be over, you know, Foxy.’

I gulped. Yes, that was exactly what I was afraid of.


1 comment:

Sibel Hodge said...

Thanks so much for featuring me! :)